- Broad reference source (including Grove Music) for information and access to literature related to music.
- Authorized users:
- Mobile support:
- Resource type:
- Accessibility statement:
- Oxford Music Online: Browsers, Settings, and Cookies
This platform provides access to the content of Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, and includes content from the Grove Dictionary of American Music, the Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and the New Grove Dictionary of Opera as well. It provides broad access to reference content including subject encyclopedic articles, composer biographies, lists of compositions, and comprehensive lists of related readings, and is updated regularly.
Advanced search allows limiting results to each of the four sub-products listed above as well as specific sections or content types within two of them. You may also limit to resource type in general. There is also a highly functional biography search, bibliography search, discography/compilation search, and videography search. The basic keyword search function is available at the top of each page. Check "Tools & Resources" for topics such as opera indexes, music timelines and topical guides. Also, biographies, subject entries, or even all content can be browsed alphabetically by title.
Laurier Library provides access to this through an Ontario Council of University Library's consortial deal. (See the Omni catalogue record for this resource for more information and alternate access.)
- Subjects covered:
- Music Therapy
- Music: Community Music
- Subject guides:
- Alternate titles:
- Grove Music Online
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
- Oxford Companion to Music
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music