British Library Newspapers

Connect to resource
Summary:
All issues from 47 national, regional and local newspapers, from the British Library holdings.
Authorized users:
Mobile support:
No
Resource type:
Access:
Coverage:
1800 - 1900
Accessibility statement:
Gale's Electronic Product Accessibility Policy
Database interface:
Description:

From the Gale information page, as of January 2020:

British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800–1900 is part of the British Library Newspapers series, providing researchers with the most comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain available. This full-text, fully-searchable digital archive includes 47 papers originating in England, Scotland, and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of nineteenth-century Britain and the world. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a dominant power in the nineteenth-century world.

Multidisciplinary in scope, newspapers in British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800–1900 range from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stewart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.

Laurier Library provides access to Part I only. Part II, III, and IV provide many additional titles.

Subjects covered:
  • History
Alternate titles:
  • Nineteenth Century British Newspapers
  • 19th Century British Newspapers
  • British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900
  • Gale Primary Sources : British Library Newspapers