Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts

Connect to resource
Summary:
A collection of more than 20 million freely available books and texts.
Authorized users:
Mobile support:
No
Resource type:
Access:
Accessibility statement:
Disability Access - General Information
Database interface:
Description:

From Internet Archive's About the Internet Archive page (as of 2020-04-29):

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.

...

Because we are a library, we pay special attention to books. Not everyone has access to a public or academic library with a good collection, so to provide universal access we need to provide digital versions of books. We began a program to digitize books in 2005 and today we scan 1,000 books per day in 28 locations around the world. Books published prior to 1923 are available for download, and hundreds of thousands of modern books can be borrowed through our Open Library site. Some of our digitized books are only available to the print disabled.

Content can be browsed by collection (grouped by country or institution providing the content, format, subject, or other criteria), title, date published or creator. There is a basic keyword search box at the top right of each page, and an advanced search that allows multiple fields to be searched and combined. Browsed or searched results can be limited through various facets such as media type, availability, year, topic, collection, creator, and language.

Laurier Library has provided a link to this collection since at least 2013 and "officially added" it to the collection in 2020.

Subjects covered:
  • Anthropology
  • Arabic
  • Archaeology
  • Biology
  • Business
  • Business Technology Management
  • Canadian Studies
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Classics
  • Communication Studies
  • Computer Science
  • Criminology
  • Cultural Analysis and Social Theory
  • Cultural Studies
  • Data and Statistics
  • Digital Media and Journalism
  • Economics
  • Education
  • English
  • Film Studies
  • French
  • Game Design and Development
  • Geography and Environmental Studies
  • German
  • Global Governance
  • Global Studies
  • Government Information
  • Health Sciences
  • Health Studies
  • History
  • Human Rights and Human Diversity
  • Indigenous Studies
  • Interdisciplinary
  • International Public Policy
  • Italian
  • Kinesiology
  • Languages and Literatures
  • Law and Society
  • Leadership
  • Legal Information
  • Mathematics
  • Medieval Studies
  • Mediterranean Studies
  • Music
  • Music Therapy
  • Music: Community Music
  • North American Studies
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Policing and Public Safety
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Religion and Culture
  • Social Justice
  • Social Justice and Community Engagement
  • Social Work
  • Social and Environmental Justice
  • Sociology
  • Spanish
  • Spiritual care and psychotherapy
  • Theological education
  • User Experience Design
  • Women and Gender Studies
  • Youth and Children's Studies
Alternate titles:
eBooks and Texts: Internet Archive