HathiTrust Digital Library

Connect to resource

Extra Access: During the COVID-19 crisis, Laurier Library is arranging to provide temporary access to digitized versions of our print books that are in this resource, through the vendor's Emergency Temporary Access Service. You are now able to sign in to HathiTrust (with your Laurier Network Login username and password only) to access the digital copies of print books held by Laurier Library through the ETAS service. Ensure that you select “Full-text” search option and that the “Full view only” option is not checked." ETAS records will display with text "Temporary Access" beside the catalog record note in search results. You will need to select 'Check Out' button from the orange banner to access the book. See the Terms of Use Statement below. For more information, see: HathiTrust Service Announcement.

Summary:
Growing collection of digitized texts from a consortium of American research universities.
Authorized users:
Mobile support:
No
Resource type:
Access:
Accessibility statement:
Accessibility
Description:

This is a repository meant for both digital preservation and functional access. Content from sources such as Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft and member institution projects. All content is discoverable through the "catalog" search; only some content is in the public domain and therefore open access; some institutions and locations have access to full text as copyright and agreements allow.

Basic search allows standard keyword searching, finding these keywords in "Catalog" (just the descriptive information only, such as author or title) or "Full-text" (descriptive information plus all other text available in the system). In can also be limited to "Full view" or content that's available. Advanced "Full-text" and advanced "Catalog" searches allow searching specific fields and combining them with Boolean operators, plus a few other limits such as language or date of publication. Some content is grouped together in "Collections" which can themselves be searched for, browsed within, and searched within.

Laurier Library is not a member of HathiTrust and therefore patrons only have direct access to the content in the public domain. (NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 crisis and the loss of access to our print collections, Laurier Library has a temporary agreement with this vendor to have access to digital copies of the print books we have in our collection. See the "Terms of Use Statement below and the Extra Access notification above.)

Terms of Use Statement

Digital works that have been made available through HathiTrust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) are solely for the use of a student, staff member, faculty member or library patron of a participating Canadian institution on the basis of fair dealing for research, private study, education, parody, satire, criticism or review only. You may only view and access these digital works for the foregoing purpose(s) during any period that these digital works are made available by the library. Any downloading, reproduction, fixation, distribution, transmission, dissemination, communication, or any other uses, may be an infringement of copyright if done without securing the permission of the copyright owner. You may not distribute, e-mail or otherwise communicate these materials to any other person. Click here for access to HathiTrust’s ETAS Terms of Service.